Thank you, Port Orford

Last Saturday we drove sixty miles down the coast to scenic Port Orford. Library Director Tobe Porter had kindly invited me to read from my novel, Spy on Clinton Street, and talk about writing. The DSC_4424day began stormy and gray, but the afternoon blossomed with puffy clouds and sun, making for a lovely day.,

I had seen the new library at Port Orford but not entered it until that day. It was entirely funded by the people of this tiny town, population 1,128, who are greatly to be admired for their commitment to creating this essential community asset. It’s lovely, filled with light and books, warm and welcoming.

As I approached, I noticed my name as a visiting author featured on building’s information board. The cliche is true: it was a thrill to see my name in lights. After the talk, I DSC_4408asked my CFO and travel assistant, my husband, to photograph the library sign and the even larger one on the Rogue Credit Union on Hwy 101, brazening my name. Thanks to Tobe and whoever else responsible for this ego-enhancing publicity.

Twenty folks turned up the reading and lively discussion of the reading and writing symbiosis and other topics, including the writer’s implied contract with the reader. We enjoyed snacks and sold copies DSC_4420of Spy on Clinton Street.

Thanks to Tobe, Gary Carter, Sy Martinez and the other generous attendees for furnishing the perfect venue, delicious refreshments, and their time and attention, the ingredients of an ideal author event.

Tobe, Gary and others are busy planning the 8th annual Port Orford Poet’s Roundup, 3 days of poetry, fiction and non-fiction readings and activities scheduled for March 28, 29 & 30. What ambitious and imaginative folks to invite poets and writers of all ages and from all over the state and beyond to convene and revel in their love for words and language in their unique seaside town.

Hats off to Port Orford, its beautiful library, and its people who love reading and show it.

I'd love to hear your comments: